Advertisement

Need Advice: Breaking into Game Industry—Environment Art or Game Design Path?

Started by August 25, 2024 06:45 PM
8 comments, last by Oblivion2500 2 weeks, 4 days ago

Hello, GameDev.net community,

I’m in need of some advice regarding my career in game development. Here’s a bit of background:

I’m 32 years old and graduated from RIT in 2016 with a degree in 3D Digital Design. During my time at RIT, I studied game design and spent a lot of time working with Unreal Engine, especially on environmental art. Unfortunately, life has been tough since then. I’ve been working in logistics and technical support—jobs I absolutely despise. My dad passed away from cancer, suffered the loss of our home, and financial ruin, and I’ve been taking care of my mom, who also got cancer just recently. I feel like I'm in situational disability with one thing after another. These challenges have left me with little time to pursue my dream career in game development. However, in the past year, I have been keeping up with my skills there and there. More now than ever. I feel like I'm going to get sick if I don't get to do what I want to do with my life.

Now, I’m ready to make a change. I recently built a high-end PC and have everything I need to start working on game dev projects and courses again. However, I’m at a crossroads and unsure which path to take:

1. Should I focus on getting an entry-level environment artist position in a game studio? I have the skills in Unreal Engine and environmental art, and this might be the quickest way to break into the industry. My long-term goal is to move into game design, writing, and eventually directing.
  2. Or should I start building a game design portfolio by creating small, demo-size games? If I go this route, do I need to begin with simpler 2D games, or can I jump straight into 3D? Also, how proficient do I need to be in programming? I have some knowledge, but I’m not particularly strong in this area.