🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Difference between Component Pattern and Builder Pattern?

Started by
22 comments, last by Oberon_Command 1 year, 11 months ago

Hello,

I am new to game development and doing some research I found that the Component pattern is largly used in game development. In a nutt shell you have an entity and start adding components to it, which is quite similar, if not identical to GOF's Builder pattern, where you a have a Builder class with some methods that allow to create different type of aggregates (or products, what ever you want to call it). Again, this is in nutt shell. There is also the concept of a Director in the builder, and patterns are nor set in stone so they can vary as long as the purpose is the same, etc….

Anyway, it seems to me that they are both the same but with a different name. What do you think?

R

Advertisement

They are not the same. The “component” pattern you're referring to applies to the actual object that was created. You take a base object (which in some cases isn't anything but an identifier) and glue behaviors and data to it at runtime, with the idea being that functionality that specific object supports doesn't need to exist until something requests it. It's a bulwark against objects getting too big and featureful (the "god object antipattern").