🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Adding Multiple Objects in 1 Scene OpenGL

Started by
10 comments, last by zX_Flame_Xz 3 years ago

I'm having trouble adding two objects onto one OpenGL scene. What are the basic steps when it comes to adding multiple objects in a scene. I have to add two eyes to a skull, and parent it to each other. I'm a beginner, so if you could explain in baby steps, that'd be nice.

Advertisement

The link to the files: https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/1T3IrFMRx9cdDpoJOEDpqdDvdC_NxqTqN?usp=sharing

If you are just toying around with OGL, you can draw your meshes in the order you need it. Lets say you want your eyes be part of the skull so you first create the modelview matrix for your skull. The matrix is usually a 4x4 Matrix witch is the product of your skulls position in the world and the camera. Then you draw your skull with that matrix.

Next step is to calculate the modelview matrix for each of your eyes. To do that, you perform the same computation of location in 3D space and camera but you also add the skull's modelview matrix to the multiplication. By doing this, you are moving the pivot point of the eyes from center of the world (0,0,0) to center of the skull. So your eyes are relative to the parent mesh.

There is usually a system involved which does all those parenting transitions and calculation for you. The system is called a Scene Graph and everything drawn in your scene is a node of that graph. The graph then computes from the root node (usually the scene) down to every leaf node, the final matrix needed to place the nodes in the scene properly.

In professional software, this looks for example like this

Could you go over the functions I have to use, I'm new to OpenGL and the tutorials are confusing.

Need more info first: