🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Backups

Started by
9 comments, last by SibylSystem 3 years, 2 months ago

When developing or upgrading your code, how often do you back the project up, and where to? I back up daily to a network storage box, a USB stick and cloud storage. I also back up when I've do a large chunk of code, so can be hourly. Am I being paranoid? I've been programming for about 40 years (started with Cobol on punched cards!) and I've only ever been caught out ONCE from not having backed up - I lost 2 days work, but it seemed like more.

JumblyApps
Advertisement

JumbyApps said:
Am I being paranoid?

No. Hourly backups may be a little overkill, though.

-- Tom Sloper -- sloperama.com

I try to commit at least once every day, and push before leaving work.
I don't know how often work does backups, but I'm sure it's at least daily.

Commit to version control (same computer, same disk): after each working feature or bug fix, at least once a day but as often as once every five minutes depending on what I'm working on.

Backup to other computer on LAN: two to four times a day, usually. Also backs up to other disk on my main computer at the same time.

Backup to USB stick: once a week. I alternate between two USB sticks, and I always keep the latest one in my pocket so that I don't lose it if the house burns down.