🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Question: Making first connections

Started by
2 comments, last by VanniMusic 5 years, 3 months ago

Hi there! I am new to gamedev and have loved diving in to the resources here! I took a look at the FAQ and some other advice articles which were really helpful and gave me some great jumping off points. 

I do have one question still. What are good ways of making those first connections to game developers as a composer? Are there conventions that I should be going to? Are there forums to go to where you can find folks who have a budget to hire composers? I've run in to a couple forums and interactions where people are looking for composers to donate their time and skills for projects, but I have passed the point of doing pro bono work for the experience and portfolio building. I live in Milwaukee and have made a couple connections here, but due to monetary constraints I'm not able to travel much or be paying for a bunch of passes to conventions. I would absolutely love to get to the point where I have enough money to invest in networking opportunities like that, but currently I am a little limited to making connections via the internet and such. 

Any pointers? 

Thanks! 

Tony

Tony Doubek

Vanni ~ Composer ~ Sound Designer 

https://vannimusic.com/

Advertisement

Networking events are the most sure-fire way to develop friendships with develops and eventually clients. Don't worry about the costs involved as if you are smart, you will more than make up the expense.