🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Showreel Feedback

Started by
8 comments, last by MattGibson 5 years, 3 months ago

Hello there, I'm new here so hopefully I'm posting this in the right place! My name's Matt and I'm a composer, currently studying my final year of a BA (Hons) degree in Creative Music Technology, who's ultimately wanting to break into the video game industry. One of the assignments for the course requires me to contact industry professionals to try and obtain feedback on things like my web presence, showreel etc., and then create an action plan based on that feedback to try and improve my employability. I was just wondering if this would be the appropriate place to try and get some feedback from some fellow composers? And also, would anyone have any tips on reaching "potential clients" as it were, essentially audio directors etc.? I realise that games companies are likely to be inundated with cold emails from composers, so any pointers on how to establish some contact courteously would be appreciated. Thank you, and it's good to meet you all!

Advertisement

Yes! You're in the right spot! 

I'd love to give you feedback. 

Nathan Madsen
Nate (AT) MadsenStudios (DOT) Com
Composer-Sound Designer
Madsen Studios
Austin, TX

Hi Matt! :) If you haven't checked it out yet, Nate's vlog series may be of interest to, tons of useful advice for aspiring composers. 

- Jason Astle-Adams

Hey, thank you! I've been steadily working my way through Nathan's vlogs and they've been super informative already ?

My website is here, kinda like my one-stop portal sort of deal. I've also made two showreels, separated into the two broad categories that I write music for:

Orchestral Showreel

Chiptune Showreel

Thank you guys once again for your time, I'd really appreciate any feedback you could provide!