🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Redesigning the Sound of LIMBO

Started by
6 comments, last by phantaminum 5 years, 11 months ago

Hey all,

So I have this unfathomable obsession with the games LIMBO and INSIDE, two games produced by Playdead Studios. But as a sound designer, I'm specifically into the audio of the game, its use of ambient tracks and specific sounds to create this level of emotion I've never felt in a platformer before.

I took a stab at redesigning the sound and ambiance of one of LIMBO's trailers to see if I could replicate such emotionality with my own creativity. Check it out below. All feedback is appreciated. 

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rMD1OljsIVA&feature=youtu.be

Thanks!

Advertisement

The balance between the sound design and the music loop is pretty off IMO. Now a quick disclaimer - I'm on a laptop right now so that could be part of it. If you want to showcase a sound design mock up then really let that be the focus. Right now it feels like the music is trying to be the focus. 

The first few sound effects that are really upfront in the mix (at around 0:32) have a lot of high end harshness to it. The dirt foley before that was okay but very nuanced in the mix. The sound designer behind LIMBO, Martin Stig Anderson, talks a lot about using tape saturation to give everything in the game a smeared, warmth to it. I think this allowed the sounds to feel more homogenous. Like they come from the same world.