🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Backups (online and image)

Started by
11 comments, last by Acronis Customer Central 6 years, 4 months ago

Just wondering if anyone has any recommendations for backup solutions? I need recommendations for both a simple home backup and a more complex business backup. 

At home, I've been using Carbonite for a few years now, but over the last year, their image backup never worked and then they dropped the feature completely. 

At work, we were using Acronis for both file and image-based backups along with Google Drive to store the files (as well as taking a disk offsite in both daily and weekly configurations). However, Acronis is quite expensive for a small business and more importantly, it just doesn't seem to be reliable. We are frequently finding that the backups just haven't run on our servers or that the service is unavailable on workstations. 

As a small business, we don't have the resources to dedicate someone to look after these backups full time, so the solution needs to be largely automated. 

if you think programming is like sex, you probably haven't done much of either.-------------- - capn_midnight
Advertisement

I compress and use Google Drive. The problem is that they charge you when you go over the limit, so deleting old files is a must.For large backups a extra hard drive is best. You can get a 1TB from amazon for $50.

However these are just personal and affordable home backup methods, and work best if you keep replacing old data with new.

I use a combination of DropBox for files/Google Drive for photos and docs/GitLab for private code (since they offer free private repos)/GitHub for public code.