🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Does violence stem from video games

Started by
42 comments, last by GameDev.net 6 years, 4 months ago

I am currently studying games development at college and need a survey answering for my essay.

https://www.surveymonkey.co.uk/r/W2LG7CV

If you answered, thank you. Please share if you can. I need 1000 responses for it to be credible

Advertisement

No, almost all violence stems from government, directly or indirectly.

"Does violence stem from video games?"

No, games are just art and art imitates life. The first shooting games weren't made because games are violent it was made because people find violence to be fun.

Games create a world where people can be as violent as they want to be, without any real consequences to there actions.

Studies have looked into violence in games and there effect. The problem is that for every study that proved games make people more prone to violence there is one that proves games are a good outlet for violent people, preventing them from causing harm.

For every study that shows games can push a already violent person into a raging fit there is one to prove that it can calm violent people down.

In other words the game is not the most important variable here, it's the person playing the game.

As for games and violence they go hand in hand,  both is important to survival.

As long as there is a smart living animal there will violence and games, and violent games. Even dogs play violent games with there pups to teach them about danger, lions play hunting with there cubs to teach them to kill.

This type of question comes around soon after most major violent crimes.

There have been actual studies on the topic. Many of them.  They've been published in all kinds of journals and such.  The results are clear and consistent.