🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Looking For 2D Pokemon Styled Assets

Started by
5 comments, last by NickFarie 7 years, 9 months ago

So I am starting to try to create a Pokemon styled game with Unity3D and I am a horrible artist and I would much prefer to be developing a game in which I don't cringe every time I look at it. I am looking for standard 2D top down Pokemon styled sprites that at a minimum would provide:

• Outdoor tiles (at least a few different ones like short grass, tall grass / bushes, and trees)
  • Character sprite (1 character would suffice)
  • Monster characters (I would like to have at least 2)

Bonus points for:

• Character sprite that has walking / running animations
  • More variation in the outdoor tiles (like houses / buildings, random objects like flower pots, etc.)
  • Indoor tiles
  • Item sprites (like potions, food, etc.)

I don't care if they are free or pay for.

I also want to mention that I am not looking to use directly ripped graphics from Pokemon itself, I don't want to go down that road, just looking for graphics that have that general feel.

Advertisement
So, Ryan, just to be clear - you're asking where you can obtain assets like those?

-- Tom Sloper -- sloperama.com

Try opengameart.org for your general needs, and then mock up ugly placeholder art (the uglier the better) for your game to use until your game is actually playable and far enough along development to be actually enjoyable to play.

Then, start showing your game on art sites, and artists will jump to provide better quality work.

(but it's a waste of their time and yours, for your game to have custom art before it's actually enjoyable and playable, because most game projects don't make it to completion)