🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

My first game music

Started by
1 comment, last by CalebFaithMusic 8 years, 11 months ago

Hi, everyone!

I am a developer but with a 10 years + musical background with guitars and vocal bands.

Recently I decided do compose game music too and here is my very first atempt on Ableton Live + Launchkey:

https://soundcloud.com/programad/jump-little-frog

This music is for an android game that is already publised (not mine): https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.DeepAxe.JumpyFrogs

What you guys think about my first creation?

C&C are welcome!

Advertisement

Hey, programad, I listened to your song. I liked it and feel that it would work perfect for an old-school 2D platformer.

However, there are some things that could be improved. For instance; the drums used sound very unrealistic. I would try to add some velocity variations and use more realistic samples. As for the drum sequencing; it's basically the same loop over and over. I would insert some fills into the drum part to add variation. But even inserting a random snare or a random kick here and there will help add variation. Lastly with the drums; I felt that the crash cymbal was too low in volume. I would turn it up in the mix.

Mixing-wise, everything sounds like it's playing from the center. I would try to pan the hi-hats farther left and the synth pads farther right. Panning will help give each instrument its own space. Arrangement-wise; the guitar, the synth pads and the vibraphone seem to all be playing in the same range. Personally I would raise the vibraphone up an octave.

So I think the following things will improve your songs:

1. Make sure you use realistic samples.

2. Make sure you add velocity variation to the samples. This will especially help your drum parts sound more realistic.