🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Software licenses. Going from Student to Commercial license.

Started by
8 comments, last by Tom Sloper 9 years, 6 months ago

Hello GameDev!

I am a student and I have a 3 year student license for Maya. This is a non-commercial license.

Once my current contract (At a very large game company) runs out and when I've finished graduation. I will be starting to work on a game.

My question is:

Can I create the game using my Student Software and once I am ready to release the game, I can swap over to a full licensed version?

Or can't I use Student-Version assets for commercial use even in a full licensed version of Maya?

In short. I haven't finished my education yet and money is incredibly tight. Having monthly subscriptions living on my savings won't work. I would like to create a game within my planned timeline which is 1,5 to 2 years.

I have tried on AutoDesk Forums, read up and down whether it's possible - so far. No clear answer, and I would prefer being on the right side of the law, as it even if a game would sell sucessfully it would not matter in case you get a lawsuit from AutoDesk.

I am not very keen on using free 3D software, as I only have experience using Max and Maya. Especially not as I have 3 years student license with them. The question is, whether I can use them or not, until money starts coming in.

I'll buy Zbrush ($795) and UD4 will be the engine.

Any help, tips advise or experiences are very appreciated :)

(I am in full understanding of the concerns with students going indie on Day 1. I have good of experience as Production Manager, as well as have worked on 2 indie games before - 1 release, as well as a commercial AAA title at a major games company. )

Advertisement