🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Contracting Devs/Studio?

Started by
3 comments, last by Orymus3 9 years, 6 months ago

Greetings,

I should first mention that I'm not immediately looking to start/fund development yet, rather I'm looking for information and pulling resources together when that time comes.

What I'm creating is a new line of IPs based under original comics and productions and at a later point (should we pull a bigger budget), would like to publish a line of games rather than develop them inhouse. You can already see some of our existing comic work at kjccomix.com. As far as involvement, I have a lot of experience in audio and have a lot of the audio materials and resources necessary for music, voice work, their mixing, and some sound design, and more than likely would need a secondary engineer for additional sound design and sound/music mastering.

I'm in the processes of formulating budgets and I'm getting (and have) a lot of creative people that I've personally worked with (and payed) in the past not just for comics, but possibly for in-game assets, interface design, concept art, etc. When we are able, what I would like to do is attack the mobile market and scale from there. However I have learned over the past that developing EVERYTHING yourself is not necessarily a good idea...matter of fact for us, it's not. So I'd like to source major development to a team of developers, but I know this comes with it's own problems and considerations.

I've vaguely contacted development houses in the past for a quote, but I'd like some more advice, hence my questions.