🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

"Breaking into" the industry - questions

Started by
15 comments, last by evesira 9 years, 7 months ago

Hello all,

This is my first time visiting these forums in many many years. I have two general questions about "breaking into" the industry that are specific to my own circumstances. Basically, I'm looking for personal advice. The two general topics are the emotional and the practical. I apologize for the wall of text ahead, and I am grateful to anyone who takes the time to share their insight (I'm looking at you Madsen tongue.png).

Emotional

I'm really not sure how to ask this without it being awkward and it sounding like I'm fishing for compliments, so I'll just come right out with it.

The confidence I have in my abilities is usually pretty low. Sometimes I have sparks where I think, "yeah, I can do this", but those moments are few and far between. Especially as I see more and more amazing composers come out of the woodwork, I think "how can I possibly compete with all these guys". This topic doesn't make me feel any better about the situation: http://www.gamedev.net/topic/661545-state-of-the-industry/