🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Trying to learn a little bit about game music

Started by
2 comments, last by yjbrown 10 years, 8 months ago

Hey guys,

I am a game programmer working on a my own little game. I have a composer that occasionaly does music for me, but as my knowledge of music is practically zero, I am having a hard time describing to her what kind of music I want. Therefore I've decided to educate myself a little bit about music. To start off, I'd like to ask everyone on this board to please listen to the first 1 minute of the following game video and describe to me in musical terms what kind of music that is. Feel free to go into as much detail as possible. I'd like to learn musical terminology such as tempo, bass, etc., in addition to what sort of musical instruments were used in the making of said music. Thanks in advance:

Advertisement

Hey there,

Personally I think you'd have more luck just showing your composer what kind of thing you're after. It's all good and well to learn some terminology, but don't expect to be able to use it accurately for a while -- you'll probably just end up confusing your composer.

The best thing you can do is find tracks that represent the flavour of the piece you want. But if you want your composer to really shine - you have to accept that their stylistic choices and ideas will come through alongside that idea (which is really what you want, if you appreciate how good music can really enhance a game, otherwise you just end up with carbon copy stuff that sounds like everything else). Good 'casting' is key here.