🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Focusing the Plot

Started by
2 comments, last by sunandshadow 13 years, 6 months ago
Background: I'm developing a Tactical RPG. I am a programmer first and foremost, I'd like to think that I can do a decent design (but since I'm just cloning a game I already know has terrific gameplay [Final Fantasy Tactics], level design and campaign flow are probably the biggest things I have to worry about).

I was planning the story for a game I'm trying to develop, and I suddenly realized that it was becoming monstrously bloated.

How do you deal with keeping the plot focused, and within the confines of what will amount to only a few dozen pages of character dialogue and script interludes over the course of the game? How can I do this without scuttling world-building and serious character development?
Advertisement
Carefully delete what isn't necessary.

To do this you need to understand what's necessary.

If you're a non-writer, you might go minimal; write what's necessary to communicate the game rules and move the player along.

I say this because bad writing is not better than less writing. Having little or no story is OK; it's a game, not a book. But adding a large amount of bad fluff because you think you're supposed to can hurt the product.

Quote: within the confines of what will amount to only a few dozen pages of character dialogue and script interludes over the course of the game? How can I do this without scuttling world-building and serious character development?