🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

The Actual Writing Process???

Started by
2 comments, last by Tom Sloper 13 years, 6 months ago
For a while. now, I've had an extensive story, complex characters, and exciting gameplay for a game I've been imagining since I was eight years old. I often go back and revise every detail in my head to continually improve the game, and I constantly illustrate, take notes, and outline various aspects of my game.

However, I have a problem.

Basically, I don't have a problem making the story, but WRITING it, specifically the screenplay.

Are there two different screenplays that must be written? One for the cinematics, and another for the gameplay? Is it true that second person is used instead of first and third, and if this is true, what do I do if there are multiple playable characters, especially when it comes to the cinematics?

I hope someone can help me. I am familiar with movie/television screenplays, but game screenplays continue to escape my knowledge (if that's the right way of putting it).

Any general advice on the matter would also be incredibly helpful.

Thanks.
Advertisement
Generally there are several documents involved in a game design:

You've got a concept document which is a very high-level document describing things like characters, settings, gameplay, target audience and platform. In a formal setting, this is the type of document used to pitch a game idea to the higher-ups -- think of it as the 'seed' from which the rest of the documents and, eventually, the game, spring from.