🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Which MacBook Pro Should I get

Started by
9 comments, last by l jsym l 14 years, 7 months ago
Hey, im trying to sell my dell XPS laptop for a macbook pro but I have one problem. Which macbook pro would be right for me ? I am a college student going into computer science So i have a lot of writing code, papers, and all sorts of stuff I have to save so would the macbook pro 13" with 180 gb and 2gb ram be enough? or would I have to step it up to the 360gb 4gb ram? I have an external hardrive which i keep most of my work on anyways but i'm still curious if the small version would be good enough. The reason I am thinking about the small one is because I want to put an insurance plan on whichever one I get and thats like 400 bucks:S:S Please tell me what you think and thanks!
l jsym l
Advertisement
Hey, I'm going into computer science next year too (in Australia), and I have a macbook pro 15" with 2gb ram and 250Gb hard drive.

The 15" has worked great for me, but my sister has a 13" macbook (not pro) with 2gb ram and 160gb hdd and it still performs great, I even found the 9400M video card to be capable of some half-decent video editing/render times with adobe after effects :)

The macbook pro 13" should have a better CPU than hers and all the other specs should be the same if not better. I think the smaller one should do just fine.

Like you said, you have an external HDD so storage space won't be a problem and you can always whack in some more ram later on if you need it.

My sis has two XPS laptops and they were nothing but trouble, but both of our macbook pros have worked great, I love mine :D