🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Bitmap loading

Started by
8 comments, last by Caste 15 years, 1 month ago
I have been following along with the code for the particle system in lesson 19 on the site and it seems very useful. However I do not understand how to get the code to work for loading a texture. The code in there is rather outdated and I'm using Visual Studio 2008. I'm pretty new to C++ but have worked in C# so the pointers and handles that exist are kind of throwing me for a loop. I understand what it is trying to do due to the excellent documentation, but I still can't figure it out myself. For example AUX_RGBImageRec *LoadBMP(char *Filename){...} Is supposedly a function which checks to see if there is a bitmap it can load. However AUX_RGBImageRec is not an object type I've ever heard of... and to give it a pointer as a function name confuses me. Is there a more recent way to import textures into OpenGL? My teacher has not covered it yet as we are still on lighting. Thanks for the help!
Advertisement
AUX_RGBImageRec is part of the glaux library which is now obsolete and probably shouldn't be used.

Quote:
AUX_RGBImageRec *LoadBMP(char *Filename){...} Is supposedly a function which checks to see if there is a bitmap it can load. However AUX_RGBImageRec is not an object type I've ever heard of... and to give it a pointer as a function name confuses me.